AGESW Awards

Each year AGESW recognizes outstanding contributions to the field of social work and aging and celebrates achievements of its members.

Nominations for these award categories can come from anyone, and self-nominations are acceptable. AGESW members are encouraged to submit nominations. However, membership in AGESW is highly encouraged.

This year, in order to promote inclusion and involvement, please help AGESW has publicize our awards in additional venues. In addition, award winners will be offered a one-year free membership to AGESW.

The AGESW Board of Directors has established the following award categories:

AGESW Doctoral Student Leadership Award

The Doctoral Student Leadership Award is given to a <u>doctoral student</u> who has demonstrated strong leadership in social work education and aging. This person will be an emerging scholar and have demonstrated outstanding service, education and research in social work and aging through activities on campus, in social work agencies and communities and/or on the state or national levels.

Faculty Achievement Award

The Faculty Achievement Award is awarded to a <u>faculty member</u> who is in the early stages of career development, and will be based on the individual's contributions and potential in this area. Indicators will include development of a line of research and scholarship in aging, a beginning presence (presentations, committee participation) in local, state, or national organizations focused on aging issues, and teaching age-related content in his/her program.

Mit Joyner BPD and AGE-SW BSW Gerontology Student Award

The Association of Baccalaureate Social Work Program Directors (BPD) and AGESW created this award in 2005 to honor Mildred (Mit) Joyner for her leadership and vision of gerontology in baccalaureate social work education. The purpose of the award is to recognize <u>BSW students</u> who have demonstrated excellence in gerontological social work.

One outstanding <u>BSW student</u> will be selected each year for the Mit Joyner BPD and AGESW Gerontology Student Award to be presented at the annual Baccalaureate Program Directors (BPD) meeting. It is recommended that nomination packets include the nomination form and letters of recommendation from faculty.

Deadline for Nominations for ALL Awards is October 29th, 2021.

Please submit nominations to:

Noelle Fields, PhD, LCSW School of Social Work, University of Texas at Arlington <u>noellefields@uta.edu</u>

AGESW AWARDS 2021 Award Nomination Form

A.	Nominee Information:	
	Name	
		_ E-mail Address
B.	Nominator Information:	
	Name	
	Phone #	
C.	Award Category:	
D.	Please include a letter of recommendation.	

Please submit all AGESW Award Nomination Forms by October 29th to Noelle Fields at noellefields@uta.edu