AGESW Awards

Each year AGE-SW recognizes outstanding contributions to the field of social work and aging and celebrates achievements of its members.  The AGE-SW Board of Directors has established the following award categories.

 Aracelis Francis Minority Scholarship in Gerontology

This $1,000 scholarship is to be awarded to an outstanding MSW student of ethnic minority, who is committed to the field of gerontological social work. Supported by a generous donor who wishes to remain anonymous, the scholarship honors Aracelis Francis, who served for 21 years as Director of the Minority Fellowship Programs at the Council on Social Work Education. She was named Director Emeritus by the CSWE Board of Directors upon her retirement.


The nominee must currently be 1) of ethnic minority, which can include, but is not limited to, persons who are American Indian/Alaskan Native, Asian/Pacific Islander (e.g. Chinese, East Indian, South Asian, Filipino, Hawaiian, Japanese, Korean, Samoan), Black, and Hispanic (e.g. Mexican/Chicano, Puerto Rican, Cuban, Central American, South American); 2) enrolled in a Master’s of Social Work program in a school accredited or in candidacy by CSWE and, 3) demonstrate a passion and commitment to gerontological social work.


Students must be nominated by one or more of their professors, who know their academic and fieldwork extremely well. The nomination packet consists of a nomination form, a letter of recommendation and a short resume or curriculum vita. At least one of the nominators must be a member of AGESW. The Awards Committee requests that the letter of recommendation provide a brief summary of characteristics, qualities, behaviors and/or activities that exemplify the nominee’s outstanding scholarship, leadership and dedication to the field of gerontological social work.

AGESW Doctoral Student Leadership Award

The Doctoral Student Leadership Award is given to a doctoral student who has demonstrated strong leadership in social work education and aging. This person will be an emerging scholar and have demonstrated outstanding service, education and research in social work and aging through activities on campus, in social work agencies and communities and/or on the state or national levels.

Career Achievement Award

The Career Achievement Award is awarded to a faculty member who has been an outstanding leader in social work education and aging. This person will have significant career achievements in this area including major research and publications, prominence in promoting education in gerontology, and mentoring of faculty and students interested in aging.

Leadership Award

The Leadership Award is awarded to a faculty member who has made significant contributions in aging research, teaching and scholarship. Indicators of a faculty member’s contribution to the field of aging include publications, the conduct of grant-funded research, presentations at major conferences, and teaching aging content in the curriculum, as well as serving as field liaison for students who have practicum assignments with older clients.

Faculty Achievement Award

The Faculty Achievement Award is awarded to a faculty member who is in the early stages of career development, and will be based on the individual’s contributions and potential in this area. Indicators will include development of a line of research and scholarship in aging, a beginning presence (presentations, committee participation) in local, state, or national organizations focused on aging issues, and teaching age-related content in his/her program.

Nominations for these faculty award categories can come from any member of AGE-SW, and self-nominations are acceptable. Both the person who is nominating and the nominee must be members of AGE-SW; however, enrolling for membership at the time of nomination is acceptable.

The awards will be presented at the reception during the AGE-SW membership meeting at the Gerontological Society of America Annual Scientific Meeting.

Mit Joyner BPD and AGE-SW Gerontology Leadership Award

The Association of Baccalaureate Social Work Program Directors (BPD) and AGE-SW created this award in 2005 to honor Mildred (Mit) Joyner for her leadership and vision of gerontology in baccalaureate social work education. The purpose of the award is to promote leadership in gerontological social work practice for undergraduate students through scholarship, best practices and/or community connections.

One outstanding BSW faculty or BSW Field Instructor will be selected each year for the Mit Joyner BPD and AGE SW Gerontology Leadership Award to be presented at the annual Baccalaureate Program Directors (BPD) meeting.  The nomination packet consists of a nomination form for each person sending a letter of recommendation (2 letters minimum) and a short curriculum vita (maximum 2 pages). At least one of the nominators must be a member of BPD or AGE-SW.

Deadline for Nominations for ALL Awards is July 11th, 2016.

Please submit nominations to:

Keith A. Anderson, MSW, PhD

School of Social Work

University of Montana