We are happy to announce the 2015 Pre-Dissertation Awardees. To see the results, click here.

Today, AGESW maintains an international membership of hundreds of educators who teach, conduct research, and promote gerontology at all levels of programs of social work education. As a member you will have the opportunity to exchange ideas with others committed to or interested in gerontology. We hope you will join us and become a part of this wonderful organization! AGESW Membership levels include the following:

$200 for insitutional memberships (membership for up to 3 individuals)
$75 for new and renewing members
$45 for new and renewing retired members
$45 for Postdoctoral members and members transitioning from student to faculty (first year only)
$25 for new and renewing student members

Click HERE to join or renew today!


Through support provided by the University of Michigan Hartford Center of Excellence in Geriatric Social Work and the SSW, a 34-CEU/CME Web-Based Certificate in Advanced Clinical Dementia Practice is now available.

The certificate is designed for healthcare professionals, including social workers, nurses, primary care physicians, health educators and administrators who are seeking to gain clinical knowledge and skills in person-centered assessment, care planning, and state-of-the-art intervention. Information about the certificate curriculum can be found here: http://ssw.umich.edu/offices/continuing-education/certificate-courses/clinical-dementia/curriculum-overview.

As you may know by now, Joy Ernst has stepped down as the editor of the AGESW e-newsletter. We are so grateful to her for the creative approach she took with the e-newsletter, from her wonderful Editor’s Notes to the Featured Article page.

We are pleased to announce Tam Perry as our new editor. Tam is an assistant professor at Wayne State University, School of Social Work in Detroit, MI. She received her PhD from the University of Michigan in Social Work and Anthropology and her MSSW from the University of Texas at Austin. Her research focuses on the experiences of relocation on older adults and their family members, as well as on ways to enhance practitioner competency around housing transitions in older adulthood.Perry is conducting a research project to analyze relocation experiences of African Americans in and around Detroit.  This study is supported by a grant from the National Institutes of Health,5P30 AG015281, and the Michigan Center for Urban African American Aging Research.  She was also recently funded by the John A. Hartford ChangeAGEnts Initiative.